Barbarian Ways -vs- Civilisation …

“We equate the barbarian way with the natural, the strong and the free,

while civilisation represents what is soft, weak and corrupt”

Every time I read this quote, I can only imagine this is what the Gods must see when they look upon our planet and what we have done to it.  I chuckle when I hear the many comments each day referring to a person, action or history as being barbaric and heathen – I wonder if these people understand the true meaning of either of these words? and I wonder do they understand how hypocritical they are?  Do they think that what they say and do now is so civilised they can’t be faulted?

Mankind has been around for thousands of years living in tandem with the planet and yet, in the past 150 years (give or take a decade), the world has spiraled into near collapse.  At every turn there is war, famine, destruction of natural habitats, annihilation of communities – mostly conducted by civilised nations.  Corruption is rife.  Human lives are worth nothing.  The lines between right and wrong are blurred.  There is no honour.

I acknowledge that some of these issues have been around a lot longer – land wars have been fought, officials have been  bought for the right price and communities have been destroyed.  The difference now is this happens on a regular basis – led by the need for control of oil or other fuel, and religion.  This ‘civilised’ behaviour – where will this end?  Will this behaviour be our Ragnarok?  Are we too late to bring the world back from the brink of oblivion that we are teetering on?

About norsestormdragon

I am heathen. My soul is ancient. I am a warrior but I do not bear arms. My belief is that we are all here as guardians of Midgard, not as despoilers of Jord. I follow the Old Ways, the gods of the north. My beliefs are primal and dark. I am a Healer - working with nature to heal. View all posts by norsestormdragon

Leave a Reply

